The Inspector and Silence

Several years ago I started writing down all the books I’d read so that I wouldn’t accidentally read a book more than once. About 2 1/2 years ago, I moved it to a blog to make it easier. This is my 147th post documented on this blog.

The entire time I was reading The Inspector and Silence by Hakan Nesser, I felt like I knew the story. In fact, I checked this blog multiple times to see if I entered the name of the novel or author incorrectly. It was nowhere to be found, so I kept reading thinking that I’d read too many mysteries and they started blurring together.

This is a great novel about how cults can rule their followers, how great detectives have a hard time getting over their own prejudices, and how the murder of young children can devastate a community. And again, the whole time the novel felt familiar. I guessed the killer when I didn’t think there were any clues pointing in that direction. But I kept going because this writing style and social critique was such a joy to read.

I finally pulled out my handwritten book journal and surprise, surprise, I read this book back in September 2012, over 3 1/2 years and more than 150 books ago.

Still a great read and I really should trust my instinct more.

Read again April 2016.

Leave a Reply

