Shadow of Night

Shadow of Night is Deborah Harkness’s second novel following Discovery of WitchesAs from my review and memory, I liked the first novel and was looking forward to reading this. Shadow of Night is a continuation of the story and picks up where Discovery of Witches ends.

We pick up the story with Diana Bishop and Matthew Clairmont (or Roydon, or de Clermont) crashing into England in 1590. Diana has to immerse herself to this new world and Matthew’s former life, while Matthew gets to pick up with his old friends, many of whom he’s not seen since the 16th century. Matthew’s friends include, Christopher Marlowe, Walter Raleigh, Queen Elizabeth, William Shakespeare, and many other names recognizable from history and science classes. It makes sense that a powerful vampire would cavort with powerful people in all periods of time, and history only remembers those who had the power. But it felt contrite. Its like Harkness picked up an almanac to find interesting characters that lived in this time period and couldn’t help putting them all into her novel.

The romance continues between Matthew and Diana as they are wed formally by the custom of Matthew’s powerful father. We learn more about Matthew’s past and his family, plus interesting things about Diana’s lineage. I learned more about the clothing of this period that I ever thought I wanted to know. All the while, Diana is trying to find Ashmole 782 and learn more about her witchcraft. Throughout this novel, Diana makes friends everywhere she goes, including an unwelcome friendship with Holy Roman Emperor while in Prague. Its been awhile since I read the first in the trilogy, but I remember Diana being aloof and almost friendless. Maybe I have it wrong, but I felt like her character changed too much. Instead we have a character that gets everyone to like her and gets what she wants even under unlikely circumstances.

Overall, I was disappointed in this book. I don’t know if it was the change in characterization or the fact that the story felt too much like a romance and not a supernatural thriller. But there was something missing. This is a long book and it felt like a chore to get through it. I remember being captivated by Discovery of Witches and that wasn’t the case with Shadow of Night. As with all books that I don’t like, I can share the blame of disliking it. Who knows if the sophomore book wasn’t as good as its freshman performance, or I was somehow expecting something different. Depending on time, I might still read the third in the trilogy, if only to see how the characters, to which I’ve now devoted over 1,000 pages of reading, turn out.

Read January 2015

Leave a Reply

